Acceptance: Moving Forward

I have been busy this couple of weeks and to be honest I don’t even know with what, apart from the usual stuff like yoga, writing and cleaning the house. Oh and of course having a few friends visiting Paris and accompanying them around, I have no other major commitment and yet I feel like I don’t have enough time in the day to accomplished what I want to do, hence abandoning my blog and baking oops! But having said that I’ve started enjoying my time here.

The keyword is acceptance, accepting that now I am here and this is my new life, and things get to start to flow better. It took me 6 months of resistance with a little bit of bitterness dealing with the new changes living in Paris. Resisting with the new language, administration, feeling sorry for myself not having a job and etc. But all these negative feeling and focusing on them made me feel worse and bitter all the time. So after a long deep search emotionally, reading self-help books and talking to my friends over and over again, finally I decided for myself I can’t put myself in this negative world that I’ve created for myself and move on.

Acceptance was the key to moving forward without it no matter how hard you try to be positive, the lack of acceptance of your current situation will drag you back down to those negative feelings that you have. Without the acceptance you will still compare yourself with the ‘what if’ I was in another situations. The reality is that this is my current situation there is no ‘what if and should have been’ and accepting the situation means I can focus on the positive things with my current situations.

The last few days has been wonderful, I feel like  a big weight has been lifted from my shoulder and more relax. I can focus more on my goals that I want to achieve while I am here and making the most of my time here. I even bought a book on how to improve my french grammar, which I wouldn’t even think of before as I was hating learning french. I just want to share this because I finally realise the power of acceptance, embrace it, a step to moving forward and focusing for what you would want to achieve. So whenever you are in a situation that you don’t like or a difficult situation, accept it and focus on how to move forward rather than dwell in it for too long. It’s not an easy process it took me 6 months to get to this point but it better than being stuck, bitter and feeling bad all the time right. Don’t push yourself if it’s going to take 6 months or 8 months to finally understand and accept the situation you’re in, everyone has their own time to process things, but the quicker it is the better it is for your mental and physical health right?

bc270f2f810fd795454c6a2f570a9011

Wishing you all a very good weekend!

7 thoughts on “Acceptance: Moving Forward

  1. Pingback: Filter the Negativity | inspire4better

    • Hi, yes I feel so much better now when I start accepting the situation. Sorry I have been so absent.. I miss writing too. How are you? I got some lemon and going to try out your lemon cake recipe 🙂

      • Try limoncello; the cake is lighter than the citrus one. You can substitute the liquor with lemon juice. 🙂
        Glad we “talk” again. Looking forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

