Wake Up Call

Lean In

This book was like a wake up call for me, not to put myself in the backseat. I have an amazing husband who always believe in me and support me in everything that I want to do but somehow I never actually listen to him. For the last 2 year I was in a place where I wasn’t happy with my work and career, I feel stuck. But I didn’t do anything about it because at the time my husband was in a process of looking for other opportunities, and I wouldn’t want to get in the way, just in case he needed to move somewhere. I always believe that his career was a priority than mine, because I think he has a better chance in going up the ladder compare to me.

Lean In, has shown me that I don’t always have to be in the backseat, I have my personal choice where I want to be, yes there will be some compromise and sacrifices or judgement from others. However first and foremost I need to think about myself and whats makes me content. I think I am not the only woman who think about our partner career is a priority, but now I need to re-evaluate this issue and pursue my own ambitions.

This book has brought up so many stories that I can relate to, and I am not even currently in a workforce, it inspired me in so many level. There are so many issues that I would love to be able to discuss and point out to my girlfriends whether they are a career woman or a stay at home mom. I am not saying that everyone will agree with this book however you can always take something from it. As I always say the world is not black and white, it’s always grey, full of options.

What I will learn from this book one little step at a time.

1. Stop being judgemental to other women, we are bitches in every way, this is the reality and this is not helping ourself.

2. Share your aspiration with you partner, you might be surprise how supportive they can be

3. Stopping “The Tiara Syndrome, where women believe that a good job performance naturally lead to promotion” If you want a promotion, voice it. If there is no opportunity, look outside. As the book say, “It’s a jungle gym, not a ladder”

4. Don’t be afraid

5. ‘Having it all’ is a myth, we all have limits and there is always trade-offs in life, and we shouldn’t punish ourself for it and accept those trade-offs wholeheartedly.

Thank you Shery Sandberg for sharing your story, and waking me up!

2 thoughts on “Wake Up Call

Leave a Reply

